Instagram Will Alert You If Your Account Is at Risk of Being Deleted
Facebook-owned Instagram is stepping up its policies when it comes to users violating its rules, announcing that it will now alert people when their account is at risk of being deleted.
In a blog post, the image-sharing social media network said it worked with Facebook to create policies that ensure Instagram is a "supportive place for everyone" including a new notification to alert people their account is at risk of being deleted.
RELATED: TOO MUCH SOCIAL MEDIA, TELEVISION LEADS TO INCREASED TEEN DEPRESSION
Instagram Users Can Appeal Deleted Content
The notification, said Instagram, also provides users with the opportunity to appeal content that is being deleted. The social media network operator said it is starting with appeals for content deleted for violations including nudity and pornography, bullying and harassment, hate speech, drug sales and counter-terrorism polices. Instagram plans to expand the appeals in the next few months. If the content is found to have been removed in error, Instagram said it will restore the post and remove the violation from the user's account.
Instagram also expanded the accounts that can be deleted, saying in the blog post that under its existing policy it will delete accounts that have a predetermined percentage of violating content but now it will also remove accounts that have a certain percentage of violations within a time frame. "Similarly to how policies are enforced on Facebook, this change will allow us to enforce our policies more consistently and hold people accountable for what they post on Instagram," the social media company said in the post.
Instagram Hides Likes To Relieve Social Pressure
This isn't the first time in recent weeks that Instagram tried to clean up bad behavior on its platform. In an effort to lessen the social media pressure on its users it is hiding the number of likes on posts emanating from six countries including Australia, Canada, Italy, Brazil, Ireland, and New Zealand. It's part of a trial that kicked off Thursday (18 July).
"We want your friends to focus on the photos and videos you share, not how many likes they get. You can still see your own likes by tapping on the list of people who've liked it, but your friends will not be able to see how many likes your post has received," Instagram wrote in a Twitter post. "We’re looking forward to learning more about how this change might benefit everyone’s experience on Instagram."
Facebook and its Properties Under Intense Scrutiny
The move on the part of Facebook-owned Instagram comes as the social media giant is facing intense backlash over fake news, inappropriate content sharing, and bullying that is taking place on its social media platforms. According to media reports, Facebook is about to get fined $5 billion by the Federal Trade Commission in regards to the Cambridge Analytica scandal in which the now-defunct political consulting company accessed the data on 87 million users without their consent. It's facing a number of inquiries here and abroad.
An exclusive interview with Rice University researchers sheds light on engineered bacteria that signal the presence of water contaminants in minutes.