Delete Your Footprint Off The Internet with a Few Clicks

Delete Your Footprint Off The Internet with a Few Clicks

If you want to delete your cyber footprint and wipe your entire existence off the internet, this website will help you to do it just in a few clicks.

The Internet is awesome. But it also never forgets and might be a nightmare if you want to delete incriminating information. From embarrassing images in a Google search to accounts you forgot you had, the internet stores everything about users. Job applicants and even new relationship partners could be affected by any sort of mishap pulled up online. To feel more secure, this website offers a solution to stay safer and happier.

deseat-me3[Image source: Deseat.me]

Delete Your Footprint

The website Deseat allows you to delete stuff on sites like LinkedIn, Evernote or Facebook. It cleans up your existence, and lets you get rid of all online activity about you.

Deseat.me was created by Swedish developers Linus Unnebäck and Wille Dahlbo to help you to delete your footprint on the web. The only thing you need to start is a Google account to log in and let the site to scan your data. The list which they created for you includes easily deleted links. Remove the links you never want to see again, and celebrate your newfound freedom!

deseat-me2[Image source: Deseat.me]

Deseat.me simply compiles the services and apps which you have created an account on. Listing them with easy 'delete' buttons allows you to unsubscribe. The entire process normally takes around an hour, which is a fair estimate given how many forgotten accounts people tend to accumulate.

deseat-me1[Image source: Deseat.me]

According to the site's creators:

"Privacy and data security is something we regard as extremely important. In fact, it is our number one focus from beginning to end. That's why we built it to run on your computer. So basically the only thing you're telling us is what accounts you want to delete. That's it, and since we use Google's OAuth protocol we don't have access to any of your login information.”

A Complete Wipe?

The only problem is the website finds the accounts that are connected to your Gmail account. So if you have used different Gmail accounts to link them, you have to search for your other ones to clean as well.

deseat-me4[Image source: Deseat.me]

The website also doesn't delete your presence from a friend's account or posts. They will be still available, even if you have deleted all your accounts via the website.So that unspoken photo from the office holiday party will live on in infamy as long as a friend has you tagged on his profile.

However, this site still offers a great solution. It provides a simple way to clean up accounts you forgot you had or don't use anymore. It might even be a way to keep yourself and your information safe.

SEE ALSO: Watch One Kinetic Art Piece Use the Internet to Connect America

Source: Deseat.me , H/T : TNW

Written by Tamar Melike Tegün

0
comments

VEHICLES This Unique Bike Has Strings Instead of a Greasy Chain 1 week ago